dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Luke 15:1-10 Cause for Joy

on April 18, 2012

15:1 “Now the tax collectors and sinners were all drawing near to hear Him.”  What was it about Jesus that made “tax collectors and sinners” draw near to Him?  He didn’t judge them (John 3:17), yet they did not leave His presence content to continue in their sin.  Many Biblical accounts show men and women left His presence changed (Levi, Zacchaeus, adulteress woman, etc…)  Lord, please show me how to minister like Jesus with compassion and effectiveness.

Parable of the Lost Sheep  One sinner repenting brings more joy in heaven than over “righteous” people who need not repent.  I’ve been a Christ-follower now for over 12 years, and it becomes so easy to think I’m morally good–barely have anything to repent of.  The sins I do just need a little apologizing.  Apart from true repentance there is no change–there is no joy!  Lord, make the weight of my sinful choices in action, word, thought and motive drive me to true repentance.  I want to make heaven rejoice!  I don’t want to keep saying “I’m sorry,” for the same sins over and over.  I want true repentance–turning away from sin and being changed!  Wherever God finds us, we need to humble ourselves and let Him carry us (15:5)!

Parable of the Lost Coin.  Jesus went on to tell a second story with the same idea to really press it home.  This one was addressed to a woman who had lost a coin.  I find it very interesting that He told a story to the men about livelihood and meat, then addressed the one about money to women.  I believe our Creator knows that our anxieties are gender-specific!

God values your life–He knows if you are lost!  He will look for you, pursue you, stopping at nothing.  When He finds you, how will you respond–in joy-inducing humility and repentance or will you refuse the Lord and run to hide again?

It’s fun to think that someone is repenting somewhere on this earth every second of every day 24/7/365–there is a continual party in heaven!!!


Leave a comment