dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

The End of Nehemiah and Blogging (13:30-31)

on January 19, 2015

This is it!  542 blogs in three years.  God has been faithful to speak to me and strengthen me.  And my prayer has been that He would do that through me for you.  God is calling me to deeper intimacy with Himself.  I’m not quite sure what that means or what it will look like, but based on my prayer time Saturday it means, “honest, raw and private.”  Even though my quiet times in God’s Word have been personally reflective, there is always the underlying knowledge that I’m studying to share.  There is often more urgency to get thoughts typed up than to “sit and soak.”  This, coupled with leading women’s Bible study at my church has left me feeling like I’m wading in shallow waters.  Like I’m trying to draw out water from the ocean with a hole-y bucket instead of a holy bucket!

How appropriate that my last blog will be from Nehemiah 13:30-31. “Thus I cleansed them from everything foreign, and I established the duties of the priests and Levites, each in his work; and I provided for the wood offering at appointed times, and for the firstfruits. Remember me, O my God, for good.” Chronologically this is the end of the Old Testament.  It ushered in 400 years of silence.  Nothing more is recorded in the Bible until Jesus-the Light of the world-is born.

Nehemiah’s legacy is that he restored Jerusalem, the temple, and the inhabitants back to purity with their God.  Everything was left in tact as the world awaited the Messiah!  Likewise, may our hearts be “in tact” as we await His return.  Come Lord Jesus!

2 responses to “The End of Nehemiah and Blogging (13:30-31)

  1. erika says:

    Very commendable Tracy!! You are a good teacher and writer. Look forward to seing how He continues to use you.

  2. Thanks Erika for the compliment and encouragement. I hope Gods word always burns like fire in my bones that I have to get out!!

Leave a Reply

