dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Creed

on January 8, 2015

But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “YOU ARE MY GOD.” My times are in your hand; rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors! Make your face shine on your SERVANT; save me in your steadfast love! O LORD, let me not be put to shame, for I CALL UPON YOU; let the wicked be put to shame; let them go silently to Sheol. Let the lying lips be mute, which speak insolently against the righteous in pride and contempt. (Psalm 31:14-18)

David not only confessed with his mouth that he trusted in the Lord, and submitted his life to God’s sovereignty, but his confession was his creed–a set of beliefs that guided his actions.

It is easy to say, “I trust You, Lord,” or “You are my God.”  But do we put that into action?  David proved his beliefs by turning to the Lord alone for help, rescue and saving.  He called upon the Lord when he was in need.  He surrendered his days into God’s hand.  The favor of the Lord was the only thing that mattered to him.  He viewed himself as the Lord’s servant.  More often than not, I say “You are my God,” but I live as if I am my god.  I try to fix everything myself; I seek my own glory through the favor of man; I plan my own vengeance; I trust in people, things and resources to rescue me; I treat the Lord like He is my servant.

Lord, let me life, my emotions, my actions reflect a heart that beats the rhythm, “You are my God.”

Leave a Reply

