dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Spent with Sorrow (Psalm 31:9-13)

on January 6, 2015

Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am in DISTRESS; my eye is wasted from GRIEF; my soul and my body also.  For my life is spent with SORROW, and my years with SIGHING; my strength FAILS because of MY INIQUITIES, and my bones WASTE AWAY.

Because of all MY ADVERSARIES I have become a REPROACH, especially to my neighbors, and an object of DREAD to my acquaintances; those who see me in the street flee from me. I have been FORGOTTEN like one who is dead; I have become like a BROKEN vessel. For I hear the whispering of many–TERROR on every side!–as they scheme together against me, as they plot to take my life.

Sin produces grief, results in sorrow and suffering, causes distress, and makes strength fail.  Suffering is a direct effect of sin.  Some suffering is a result of living in a world marred by sin and inhabited by sinful people.  And sometimes it is a consequence of our own sinful choices.

Whether our suffering is a product of our sins or others’ sins against us, we have two choices:  1) try to handle it ourselves and end up empty, exhausted, and angry or 2) turn to the Lord and ask for His grace! (vs. 9)

In verses 9-10, David’s sorrow was a consequence for his own sins.  He took responsibility for them, calling them “my iniquities.”  We cannot receive grace without confession.  Several weeks ago I had been battling despair and a downcast spirit.  But it wasn’t until I recognized the sin of selfish idolatry in my life and confessed it that I received grace and strength from the Lord.  Now I am walking in joy and freedom, again.  Even though the silly circumstances that were causing discontentment and discouragement haven’t changed–I didn’t lose 10 pounds, I didn’t get a new wardrobe or a bigger house–I have found joy in God’s grace alone.

It might be good to take a few moments and examine our hearts:  Could my sorrow be related to my sin?  How am I trying to handle suffering in my own failing strength instead of turning to the Lord and receiving His grace?  Do I really believe His grace is all I need?

Help me, Lord, to recognize my need for your grace!  Your Word says it is abounding even over our darkest sins (Romans 5:20).  It also says that Your grace is ALL I need–in suffering, hardships, weakness, insults, persecution and calamity (2 Corinthians 2:9-10).  May Your grace be multiplied to me!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

