dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Determined to Rejoice

on January 5, 2015

Into your HAND I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God.  I hate those who pay regard to worthless idols, but I TRUST in the LORD.  I WILL REJOICE AND BE GLAD IN YOUR STEADFAST LOVE, because You have SEEN my affliction; you have KNOWN the distress of my soul, and you have not delivered me into the HAND of my enemy; you have set my feet in a broad place. (31:5-8)

David commits to two actions in these verses: I trust in, and I will rejoice in.  In the midst of affliction and distress David chose to trust and rejoice in the LORD.

How do I most often respond?  Worry, complaining, discontentment, despair.  These are red flags that I am “paying regard to worthless idols;” that I am giving too much consideration or attention to temporal things.

David said, “I WILL REJOICE.”  He was determined and committed to trust and joy.  How is that possible when negative circumstances are pressing in on every side?  David was confident in God’s love for him, that God saw and knew his pain.  And God loves, sees, and knows us too.

In verse 5 David surrendered his spirit into God’s hand, and in verse 8 he accounted that God had not given him into his enemy’s hand.  When God holds our spirit, He won’t give it to anyone else.  David wrote, “You set my feet in a broad place.”It was a sure sign that trusting in God no matter what brought him freedom. The enemy’s hand closes around, traps and suffocates, but God’s hand is open and our spirits run free.

What am I placing my trust in?  If it’s not the Lord, it is an idol.

In what/whom am I seeking my joy?  If it’s not the steadfast love of God, it will eventually disappoint, entrap, or destroy me.

Because God’s love is steadfast, unfailing, never-ending, non-fluctuating; we always have a reason to rejoice and be glad.

Let that truth lead your heart to worship:

In death, in life, I’m confident and covered by the power of Your great love. My debt is paid. There’s nothing that can separate my heart from Your great love. Your love never fails, it never gives up, it never runs out on me!

http://youtu.be/6_KXsMCJgBQ One Thing Remains by Jesus Culture

Leave a Reply

