dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Into Your Hand I Commit my Spirit

on January 4, 2015

Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God. (Psalm 31:5)

As I have been praying through the Psalms to start my daily quiet time, this verse struck a chord in my heart.  Over the next few posts, I’d like to share several ways this whole chapter has impacted my thoughts.

When David wrote this, he was faced with death on every side.  Enemies encamped around him and laid hidden traps for him.

Hundreds of years later,  the Son of David, Jesus, uttered similar words hanging on the cross with enemies surrounding him whom had just called out for his blood.  In Luke 23:46 it says, “Then Jesus, calling out with a loud voice, said, ‘Father, into your hands I commit my spirit!’ And having said this he breathed his last.”

If King David and Jesus trusted the Father with His spirit in a time of pain, agony, despair, loneliness, uncertainty, and imminent death; I can trust Him with my spirit daily.  The Father’s hands are strong and capable; gentle and faithful.  And because He has redeemed my spirit, it belongs to Him anyway.  “By redeeming our souls, he has not only acquired an additional right and title to them, which obliges us to commit them to him as his own, but has shown the extraordinary kindness and concern he has for them, which encourages us to commit them to him,” wrote Matthew Henry in his commentary on Psalm 31:5.

Every hardship we face has the potential to drive our spirits into the loving hands of God.  Although at this writing, David was delivered from death, Christ was delivered into death.  Both men showed great concern for their spirits not their bodies.

Like I wrote yesterday, my enemy has been my mind.  Lies are like hidden traps and enemies closing in around me.  They are meant to destroy my joy, but God wants to give me abundant joy.  In the midst of trials and tribulation, am I more concerned with my spirit or my situation? Am I allowing my circumstances to reveal God’s faithfulness?

Leave a Reply

