dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Are You Lifting Your Soul to What is False or to God?

on January 3, 2015

Subtle lies have been seeping into my mind and slowly altering my emotions and actions over the past several weeks.  “I’m not good enough,” “I’m not thin enough,” I don’t measure up,” “I don’t have anything to offer,” “No one likes me,” “I’m failing as a mom,” “My clothes are outdated and too tight,” “My house is too small and not decorated nicely,” etc…  Instead of taking the time to correct the lies with truth and turn to the Lord for forgiveness, comfort and peace, I’ve been walking in discontentment, condemnation and shame by listening to the accusations of the Enemy.

Before I started my quiet time with the Lord, I finally humbled myself and asked for help to change and overcome these lies.  I started reading Psalm 24 (because it was Dec. 24).  Who shall ascend to the hill of the LORD? Who shall stand in his holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart, WHO DOES NOT LIFT UP HIS SOUL TO WHAT IS FALSE and does not swear deceitfully. (vs. 3-4)  I thought, “Yes! That’s me!  I’ve been lifting my soul up to what is false.”  When I studied this phrase deeper, the word “idols” replaced “what is false.”  Ouch!  All along I thought I was the victim, when in fact I was making myself no more than a shiny gold statue!  Fixating on my image, my reputation, my happiness is idolatry–life is all about me!  No matter how much I shine myself up, I will never be God and I will never be worthy of worship.

The worst part is that this lie-based idolatry was keeping me from God’s presence.  I couldn’t be near to Him.  If I truly desire to be in God’s presence, I’ll do whatever it takes to seek Him and His face.  I will replace lies with truth.  I will fix my eyes on the Lord and not on me.  I will look for ways to love others instead of trying to love myself more.

Matthew Henry wrote this about those who can be in God’s presence:  “They are such that do not set their affections upon the things of this world…whose hearts are not carried out inordinately towards the wealth of this world, the praise of men, or the delights of sense, who do not choose these things for their portion, nor reach after them, because they believe them to be vanity, uncertain and unsatisfying.”  Chasing after physical beauty, financial stability, material possessions, personal glory is like chasing the wind.  They will all fade; they will never be enough.  The Lord is my chosen portion (Psalm 16:5a).  He is always enough.  He truly satisfies.

Leave a Reply

