dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Deuteronomy 4:15-24 ~ Inevitable Idolatry

on November 12, 2014

I’m finding that as I age, I am growing more forgetful.  I need more reminders and more lists to keep me on task.  Sometimes I’ll even say things like, “Honey, I’m putting my phone in this drawer. I’m telling you this so when I forget where I put it, you can remind me.”  My oldest son is ready to get his driving permit, and I keep saying, “Remind me to call the insurance company.”  I think that one I’m forgetting because I’m in denial.  Speaking of denial–

The Israelites were in slavery along de Nile, until the LORD supernaturally delivered them.  As time passed, it was easy for them to forget His power and ability to save.  In these 10 verses alone there are four warnings to them: “Watch yourself very carefully,” Beware!” (2x), and “Take care lest you forget.”  They were prone to forget the greatness of their God.  We, too, are prone to making idols of lesser things, to worship created things instead of the Creator, or to make God into an image we can accept.  We cry out for the tangible–something we can hold and on which we can fix our eyes.  Our tendency is to make the Holy into something common and the common into something Holy!  Whether we know it or not we are all looking for something/someone to worship and serve.

BUT THE LORD has taken you and brought you out of the iron furnace, out of Egypt, to be a people of his own inheritance, as you are this day. (Deuteronomy 4:20) God alone is the rescuer and deliverer.  He wants and deserves all of our affection, reverence, service and worship.  Verse 24 says, “For the LORD your God is a consuming fire, a jealous God.”  He wants to burn up everything in us that is not of Him or for Him.  He wants to consume our hearts.  He requires our exclusive worship.  One definition of “jealous” that struck a chord in my heart is this:  fiercely protective of one’s possession.  If we belong to God because He rescued and delivered us from slavery to this world’s system, He wants our whole heart!

I love the way John puts it in 1 John 5:21:  Keep yourself from anything that might take God’s place in your heart.

Is there anything that is threatening to take God’s place in my heart?  Is there anything that I love and worship that isn’t God?  Is there any area of my heart that I don’t want His holiness to consume?

Here is a link to a great older song by Jeremy Camp to point our hearts to God in worship.  I pray that these words echo the desire of our hearts.  http://youtu.be/PuZ5wXnRCvQ

Leave a Reply

