dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Happy Birthday! I’m 15!

on October 31, 2014

And through your faith, God is protecting you by His power until you receive this salvation which is ready to be revealed on the last day for all to see. 1 Peter 1:5

I can vividly remember the morning God’s love and truth transformed by life.  It was a Sunday morning, October 31, 1999, and the church was wrapping up its service by singing “I Surrender All.”  My heart was on the verge of doing just that.  For over a month, my mind and soul had been in a tug of war for my very life.  My mind argued, “You know the facts. You know about salvation. You know about sin and its consequences. You know about Jesus and believe He was hung on a cross to die for the sins of the world and raised back to life. You believe in heaven and hell.”  But my soul was countering, “Even the demons believe that stuff and they tremble.”  Salvation is more than knowledge.  It is a moment of transformation when your old life dies, and God supernaturally gives you a new life.  A moment of surrender, repentance, forgiveness, cleansing, freedom, peace and joy–THAT LASTS!

  • God chose me to believe in Him
  • God called me to put my faith in Him
  • God gave me the gifts of faith and grace
  • God forgave my sins and made me whole
  • He opened my eyes to His love and truth
  • He changed me and continues to daily.

Today I celebrate 15 years of salvation, 15 years of hope, 15 years of peace and 15 years of surrender.

By His power may my life song continue to be, “I Surrender All.”

“I Surrender All” by Jadon Lavik http://youtu.be/uaTXNxUXcn4

P.S. There are some dangers of being a 15-year-old that I think can easily transfer from natural age to spiritual age that I want to be aware of and work on this year:

  • Not try to be independent
  • Never lose the wonder
  • Stop taking things for granted
  • Realize I’m not entitled to what my peers have
  • Don’t forget what’s important–not fill my time with entertainment

 

Leave a Reply

