dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Revelation 22:6-21 ~ Come Lord Jesus

on August 19, 2014

Two years, seven months, and 17 days–501 posts!  That’s how long it has taken me to blog through the New Testament.  What a joy it has been to read God’s Word nearly daily and pray about how to apply it to my life and to share it with others!  Studying the life of Jesus from his birth through his death and resurrection to his ascension and his promise to come again while seeing the impact it has had throughout time and in my life personally has been my greatest joy in this journey!  All of life–past, present and future–is about Him, by Him and for Him! To God be the glory!

“Behold, I am coming soon…” Jesus promises this to John three times in this last chapter of Revelation. For every promise to “come,”  there is a responding request to Him to “come”–like now!  When I was younger I didn’t want Jesus to come back until I had a chance to get married…then after I was married I wanted him to wait until I had children…having children now there are times I’d like Him to wait until I get a chance to see them raised and give me grandchildren…My life is good, and sadly my urgency for His return has been low.  When John was writing these commands, the Christians were being persecuted mercilessly (as many are still today).  I can imagine that reading that Jesus was coming back soon was music to their ears!  And the plea of their hearts was for Him to, “Come!”

2 Timothy 4:8 says, “Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to ALL WHO HAVE LOVED HIS APPEARING.”  Do I long for His appearing?  Am I excited by His promise to come soon?  Can I shout the request to, “Come!” along with the Spirit and the saints?  Am I ready for His coming?

Jesus doesn’t say exactly when he will come, but when He comes He will reward the faithful and punish the faithless.  He is the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End, the Alpha and the Omega–He has seen and knows all things!  The reward of the faithful is entrance into the eternal city, the ability to eat from the tree of life, and to quench our thirst with the water of life.  We will be provided for and protected in His presence forever–fully satisfied, fully content!  The price for this reward has been purchased by the blood of Jesus that He shed when He died on the cross.  Only those who have put their faith in His sacrifice to cover their sins will receive this reward.  IT IS NOT TOO LATE!  JESUS COULD COME BACK TODAY–WOULD YOU BE READY???

Amen! Come Lord Jesus!

