dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 30 ~ Beautiful Contrast

on July 20, 2014

For His anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime.  Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes in the morning…You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever! (Psalm 30:5,11-12)

Life is filled with highs and lows.  Although we don’t like the lows, they are necessary.  It is through the lows that the highs shine more brightly and are experienced more fully.  Unfortunately in the lows sometimes we forget that God is in control and faithful through them.  Instead of extolling Him (vs. 1), we criticize and blame Him.  Ecclesiastes 7:14 says, “In the day of prosperity be joyful, and in the day of adversity consider: God has made the one as well as the other…”

So how can we approach the lows more effectively?  Humility!

  • RECOGNIZE that God is our only help and hope!  Verse 10 says, “Hear, O LORD, and be merciful to me! O LORD, be my helper!”
  • REMEMBER that favor follows anger, joy follows weeping, dancing follows mourning, and gladness follows sorrow.  They surely and faithfully come in pairs.
  • REJOICE!  Praise and thank Him through the highs and lows.

Hope this song by David Crowder helps you praise Him!!! “Glory of It All”

http://youtu.be/5eg-AlKyz3E

