dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 30:1-4 ~ A Reason to Praise

on July 18, 2014

 I will extol you, O LORD, for you have drawn me up and have not let my foes rejoice over me.  O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me. O LORD, you have brought up my soul from Sheol; you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit.  Sing praises to the LORD, O you his saints, and give thanks to his holy name.

When we cry out to the LORD for help, He heals, rescues, and restores.  Satan is our biggest “foe.”  He is always trying to drag us down, but the Lord draws us up!  God acts in response to our humble cries.  If we don’t realize that He can save us, we won’t ask Him to.  When we recognize the power He has over our lives, and we turn to Him for help; He swoops in and rescues!  Even when our circumstances are less than pleasant and seem to be going unchanged, if God has rescued our souls from death–eternal separation from Him–then we have plenty of reasons to praise Him.

Too many times I find myself blaming or criticizing God instead of extolling, singing praises and thanking Him.

In case you are wondering what it means to extol like I was–hear you go!  To extol means to applaud, celebrate, glorify, magnify, make much of…

