dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 27 ~ One Thing

on July 15, 2014

ONE THING have I asked of the LORD, that I will SEEK after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire/meditate in His temple. (v. 4)

You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, LORD, do I seek.” (v. 8)

God has offered an open invitation to all people to seek Him.  We each must respond personally to His call.  Will we seek Him or not?

David had a single-minded passion and purpose–to seek the Lord’s presence and to see His beauty.  What  am I seeking after more than God’s presence?  How many things am I seeking that are distracting me from seeking the ONE THING that matters most?

God is worthy of being sought by us wholeheartedly, tirelessly, single-mindedly, and unwaveringly.  He is our Light and Salvation; our Stronghold, Refuge, Shelter, and Help. He lifts us up.  He removes fear and gives great confidence in the midst of trouble. With Him there is joy even when facing difficulties.

I BELIEVE that  I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living! Wait for the LORD: be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD! (v. 13-14)

We seek believing we will find Him!  We seek patiently–not giving up or turning to other people or things.

I encourage you to spend a few minutes thinking about what you are seeking in life.  What is the ONE THING you are seeking more than anything else?  If it’s not God, spend some time cleaning “house” and putting His presence first again!  If you seek Him, He will be found!  Be strong, let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!

Leave a Reply

