dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 26 ~ Without Wavering

on July 13, 2014

Vindicate O LORD, for I have walked in my integrity and I HAVE TRUSTED IN THE LORD WITHOUT WAVERING!  (vs. 1)What a declaration!  What steadfastness of peace, freedom, joy and rest must come along with a heart that trusts God unwaveringly.

David doesn’t just flippantly proclaim his unwavering trust, but opens his life up for scrutinization.  Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind. (v. 2)  Would I be brave enough to invite God to test my heart and mind–my emotions, my thoughts, my beliefs, my feelings towards others, my desires, my passions???  What would He really find in me?

For Your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in Your faithfulness. (vs. 3) When the steadfast love of the Lord is ever before our eyes, why would we ever doubt Him?  Psalm 25:10 says that, “All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness.”  We can only walk in His faithfulness my keeping His Word.  Therefore, trusting in the Lord without wavering means that we fix our eyes on His love and follow His Word with our actions.

Lord, I hope that I will be able to say that I have trusted in You without wavering!  Oh LORD, search me and test me and clean out any area of disbelief, selfishness, pride, distrust, bitterness, envy/jealousy, self-righteousness, deception…Help me to keep my eyes fixed on Your steadfast love and to walk in Your faithfulness.  Thank you for giving us Your Word, and for offering us a way to live that brings freedom and joy.

