dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 25:7 ~ The Sins of My Youth

on July 12, 2014

When I was studying this chapter, I was “vacationing” in my hometown.  It’s funny the memories and regrets that come back spontaneously as one drives through their hometown!  There were many flashbacks that left me ashamed of myself–my immaturity, my selfishness, my foolishness, my sinfulness.

The prayer in verse 7 was so encouraging:  “Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O LORD!”  

Thanks to Jesus, those memories didn’t end in a sea of self-deprecation and shame, but in gratitude and awe at the steadfast love and goodness of God!  I have been redeemed and made new.  That old girl is dead and gone!

