dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 25 ~ The Upside of Humility

on July 12, 2014

Good and upright is the LORD; therefore he instructs sinners in the way. He leads the HUMBLE in what is right, and teaches the HUMBLE his way.  ALL the paths of the LORD are steadfast love and faithfulness, for those who keep his covenant and his testimonies. (vs. 8-10)

Humility means trusting the Lord to teach and lead me.  It is believing that He is higher than me in authority and wisdom.  It is demonstrated in following where God leads out of reverence, devotion and adoration.

If ALL the paths of the Lord include steadfast love and faithfulness, why do we rebel and try to make our own path!?  PRIDE!  DISTRUST! NO FEAR OF THE LORD!  But, when we know the character of God and His ways we should stand amazed that He would even want to lead and teach us.

  • trustworthy (v. 2-3)
  • source of salvation (v. 5)
  • friend of those who fear (respect) Him (v. 14)
  • merciful (v. 6)
  • full of steadfast love (v. 6)
  • filled with goodness (v. 7)
  • good and upright (v. 8)
  • instructs/teaches/leads (v. 8-9)
  • faithful (v. 10)
  • gracious (v. 16)
  • guards/delivers (v. 20)
  • a refuge (v. 20)

The psalm-writer saw all of these things in the Lord. That is why he was able to humbly call out to, trust in, wait on, and lift his soul up to the One who is his Redeemer!

Who is the man who fears the Lord?  

  • Him will He instruct in the way that he should choose. God promises that when we fear Him–consider Him above all other people and things–that He will give us direction for our choices–both big and small!  Ask Him anything!  He has a plan and a purpose and He wants us to walk in them.  Only by humbling ourselves and asking can we be taught and led.
  • His soul shall abide in well-being, This is probably my favorite promise.  I clung to that phrase and mulled it over the whole day.  What a promise! And I know it to be true.  Whenever I have been surrendered to the Lord’s direction, my soul has dwelt in well-being.
  • and his offspring shall inherit the land.  God keeps His promises from generation-to-generation!  My kids will be blessed because of my humble view of the Lord.
  • The friendship of the Lord is for those who fear him, and he makes known to them his covenant.  What are the benefits of friendship with God–closeness, someone we can confide in honestly, unconditional love, approachable no matter time of day or circumstance, always available for help or advice.

Lord, make me humble!  Lead me, teach me!  You are the God of my salvation.  For You I wait all the day long!

