dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 18 ~ My Rock

on July 7, 2014

Some random thoughts from June 18, day 2 of vacation:

  • Looking out over hundreds of acres of undeveloped hills and thinking of all the living things that God provides for abundantly; I wondered, “Why do I worry!?” He is a big God–feeding multiplied millions of creatures whose only fear is predators! Lord, help me to only be concerned with avoiding my Predator and to trust You for all else!

For who is God, but the Lord? And who is a rock, except our God? The God who equipped me with strength and made my way blameless. (Psalm 18:31-32)

  • This chapter really spoke to me as I was sitting on a giant rock that was part of the mountain jutting out through the earth. It is so easy to think about “earth” and forget that there is a more solid foundation underneath.  My Rock is strong, enduring, and living.  He equips me with strength and makes my way blameless.
  • When we arrived at our vacation destination–a solitary farmhouse on top of a mountain–a phrase from a Bible verse came to mind: “He brought me into a wide place.” I didn’t know where the verse was located and couldn’t find it without the use of technology/commentaries, of which I had neither!  But God brought the verse to me!  He is awesome like that!!  Psalm 18:19 says, “He brought me out into a broad place; He rescued me because He delighted in me!  There was a lot of singing and dancing in that wide open pasture that morning!  God felt so near!

The Lord lives, and blessed be my Rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation! (vs. 46)

