dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Revelation 3:7-13 ~ Eternal Label Maker

on April 8, 2014

Jesus wrote an encouraging message to the church in Philadelphia!  He reminded them first off that He is holy and true; that He has full power and authority; that He is sovereign over every open and shut door of opportunity and over their entrance into their eternal home!

Jesus then went on to acknowledge three things about them:

  1. “I know that you have but little power.”  In our culture that might be considered a low-blow–an insult.  But according to Scripture we know that weakness is a good thing!  God uses the weak to shame the strong (1 Corinthians 1:27). He has pity on the weak (Psalm 72:13).  He rescues, delivers, and gives justice to the weak (Psalm 82). He died for the weak (Romans 5:6). And God uses our weakness to display His power! (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)
  2. “You have kept my word.”  Keeping God’s Word is not always easy.  We live in a world that opposes God’s Word at every turn and always has.  Holding fast to absolute truth requires unwavering commitment and patient endurance even in the face of persecution.
  3. “You have not denied my name.”  God’s Word promises that belief in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior is all we need to be right with God, but “religious” people say that following rules and keeping up with a list of do’s and don’ts is what’s required. Jesus is the name above all names–nothing else matters except acknowledging Him as Lord!

Jesus made several key promises to those who keep His Word and hold fast to His name.  God will open opportunities for us that cannot be shut (v. 8).  He will teach others about Himself and His love through our lives (v. 9).  God will make us a pillar in His temple.  Pillars are small, yet mighty.  They stand on the foundation and uphold the entire structure.  As pillars in His temple, we will stand firm and confident in His presence forever (12).  And finally my favorite promise:

I will write on him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which comes down from my God out of heaven, and my own new name.

My parents’ old label maker has fascinated multiple generations, and I’m sure our family is not unique in this.  It is fun to type out a label and put our name on something that has value to us.  Woody in Toy Story had Andy’s name on his boot.  Some tattoo their spouse’s name on their bodies.  God will write His name on you!!!  When God promises to write His name on us, He is saying we are His valued possession, His treasure forever!  That is hard for me to wrap my mind around.  I know myself–I wouldn’t consider myself a treasure to anyone, let alone Almighty God.  But that is how He sees me, and everyone who is faithful to His Word and the name of Jesus.

“What is man, that you make so much of him, and that you set your heart on him?” (Job 7:17)

