dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Revelation 1:1-8 ~ It’s All About Jesus!

on March 29, 2014

Revelation was written by the Apostle John while he was in exile on the island of Patmos near the end of the first century.  It is filled with wonder, warnings, wrath and winning victory!  This book used to scare me because of all the speculation about the unknown in it.  However my pastor has been going through it and has taught me that Revelation is not about speculation, but about adoration and anticipation.  It is a picture of my ruling and reigning Savior, Jesus Christ.  Revelation unveils His glory!

We would do well to remember these three things as we study the book of Revelation:

  1. Revelation is all about Jesus. (vs. 1)
  2. Revelation is a gift from God to His people. (vs. 1)
  3. Revelation is the only book that carries a blessing to anyone who reads it aloud, hears it and keeps it. (vs. 3)

Jesus is described as:

  • The faithful witness.  He testifies to the truth always and forever.  His story never changes or varies. (vs. 5)
  • The firstborn of the dead.  He receives the highest honor and blessing.  He goes before us and makes the way. (vs. 5)
  • Ruler of kings on earth.  All authority and power is His.  Nothings happens in the whole world apart from His plans.  Kings and kingdoms rise and fall at His command! (vs. 5)

This great and mighty ruler LOVES (present tense) us and set us free from sin by shedding His own blood. (vs. 5) We have been absolved and our King paid the penalty on our behalf.  If I were on trial and the judge took the lethal injection on my behalf so I could walk free, I would be overflowing with gratitude and overwhelmed by grace and mercy.  So it is for Jesus–He alone deserves glory and power forever and ever!!! (vs. 6)

Jesus is coming again, and we will worship Him.  Will He receive willing worship or wailing worship?  Those who have been set free by Him will worship Him willingly.  “You are my God, my King, my Savior!  Everything I believed about You is true!”  Those who don’t believe will worship Him with wailing.  “Everything I heard about You is true.  I’m so sorry I didn’t believe.” (vs. 7)

Jesus is the Alpha and Omega…the beginning and the end…the first and the last…from A-Z He is totally complete, missing nothing.  Every word is formed in Him; He is the Creator of all things!  He always has been; He always will be!  He is Almighty! (vs. 8)

Spend some time worshiping Him today!

