dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Love Much

on March 11, 2014

My family was up for the day, and I knew my time in God’s Word would be brief and riddled with potential distractions.  I sent a quick prayer out to God to speak to my heart even in the short time I would have to read and process His Word.  God heard my prayer and answered!  He is so good!

Instead of following my current journey through the New Testament, I thought it would be quicker to work on my ladies’ Bible study questions.  This past week we were supposed to read several different passages that show Jesus as a “Liberator of Women.”  I had heard the stories before, and I actually contemplated skipping the reading and just answering the questions.  But I felt the Spirit prompt my heart to read them.

I read about the “sinful” woman in Luke 7:36-50.  When I got to verse 47 and read, “Therefore I tell you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven–for she loved much.  But he who is forgiven little, loves little,” it hit me like a ton of bricks!  When I forget how much I have been forgiven; my ability and desire to love is impeded. (Since I have been learning so much about love from 1 John, I think it’s super cool that God would let me keep learning about love even in Luke 7!)

After following Christ for so long, it is easy to forget where I was when He found me!  This forgetting how much I’ve been forgiven often interferes with how much love I think others “deserve” from me.  I had to quickly sneak off by myself to confess my self-righteousness to the Lord so that I could show His love to others more abundantly and selflessly.  Forgetting how much I’ve been forgiven also limits my love for Him–and causes me to take my salvation from sin and death for granted.  Realizing afresh what He saved me from and how low He had to reach to get ahold of my life is humbling and awakens new love for Him!

Looking back at my notes from the ladies’ Bible study, I realized I was supposed to read Luke 7:11-17!  It is so awesome that God knows me personally and intimately!  When I surrendered my heart, mind and ears to Him asking for Him to speak, His Spirit led me to the “wrong” passage because He knew I needed to hear Luke 7:47!

So in summary:  1) God hears and answers our prayers, 2) God loves us intimately, 3) God knows exactly what we need and uses His Spirit to re-route our plans, 4) God has forgiven me of so much, that I must love Him and others much!

