dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Thanking Henry

on March 5, 2014

It was 4:12 a.m. when I heard the piercing cry that overpowered the sound of our furnace and humidifier.  I shouldn’t have been surprised.  This has been going on around the same time–give or take–for eight weeks now.  It is the desperate cry of a hungry baby.  The cry of a baby in need of care, sustenance, and nurturing.

I prepared his bottle, changed his diaper and started the feeding/burping process.  His eyes were fixed on mine, like I was the only one in the world.  I guess in his world at that moment, I was!  He almost looked grateful.  As I took in the perfection of his face and the miracle of his existence I was overwhelmed with gratitude–to him! I thanked him for waking me up in the middle of the night so I could have extra time with him. The days get so busy with taking care of my house, my husband, our other boys, homeschooling, and church responsibilities that early morning feedings become a special time between just the two of us.

When I tucked him back in and crawled into bed, I couldn’t help but to think about how God must feel when I get up early to spend time with Him–when I’m so hungry for spiritual food that nothing else matters; when I put my full trust in Him for care, nourishment and sustenance; when I fix my gaze on Him with gratitude that He would take time for me with everything else that is going on in the world.

Leave a Reply

