dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Like an Infant

on February 19, 2014

Yesterday I had a bad day–not a “catastrophe and tragedy” day, but an “immature, selfish responses to minor letdowns” day.  I got up at 5:30 a.m. (not by choice) and was in complete meltdown mode by 10:30 a.m. sure that my whole day was “ruined.”  Just 3.5 hours later things were looking up and the rest of the day…well, I’ll get to that in a bit.

This morning as I fed my 6-week old son, I realized just how alike we are!  He woke up crying.  (Sometimes I feel like doing that too!) I soothed him and laid him down while I went to the kitchen to make his bottle.  By the time I got back to him, he was in the throes of a major tantrum–writhing all over the bed, face covered in snot, bellowing at the top of his lungs.   He is not mature enough to trust that I was going to take care of his needs, even though I have been faithfully doing it since he entered the world.  Halfway through his bottle, I needed to burp him, and he went right back into that tantrum–as if I wasn’t going to let him be completely filled and satisfied.  He couldn’t understand that the pause in eating and the back smacking were going to result in his getting more food without a tummy ache.  He’s sitting next to me now fully contented…until the next time!

God is a good Father.  He always takes care of my needs.  He has been faithful to me beyond belief!  He is filled with abounding grace and mercy! Yet somehow in the midst of crisis–even minor ones–I still forget that.  Yesterday, although I had failed him morally, displayed a lack of trust in Him, and refused to take time to pray for change (I asked others to pray for me, without praying myself.)–He was still faithful to redeem the day (The day He created–His day, not my day!)  At 2 o’clock I stopped everything to pray and read His Word.  At 3 o’clock I took a one-hour nap.  At 4 o’clock I took a 2 mile walk out in the sunshine and relative warmth of the day.  It was during that walk that I really talked with the Lord, and let Him show me where everything fell apart.  (I literally talked to him out loud, with my cell phone by my ear, so that anyone passing by would just think I was on a call and not crazy!! I’m a dork!)  Here is what I learned:

Setbacks to Seeking the Lord…Two weeks ago, God revived my heart and put a fresh desire in me to seek Him continually.  (1 Chronicles 16:11, Psalm 27:8)  There was so much joy and peace in the coming days.  But like the old song says, we are “prone to wander.”  One morning, I forgot to ask the Lord how to use the day He had given me.  The next day, everyone was up in the morning, and I didn’t get a chance to spend time in prayer with the Lord and had a quick Bible reading later in the day that I didn’t have time to make applicable to my heart–I just read.  The third day, I skipped prayer and Bible reading because I had so many needs to meet for others.  Three days out, and my joy and peace were gone.  I was back to doing everything according to “my” schedule and in my own strength.  My intimacy with my Heavenly Father was missing, and I forgot that I could trust Him.  Yesterday what I really needed to do in the midst of my meltdown was to stop serving and striving and start seeking and savoring my Savior!  He already knew he was going to give me an afternoon or rest and refreshment.  If I could have just held on by faith through the morning, I wouldn’t have had so much strife and pain in the process. I wouldn’t have a snotty face and sore throat due to a tantrum because I had to wait for my “milk.”

Leave a Reply

