dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

1 John 3:16-19 ~ Love

on February 11, 2014

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and WE OUGHT TO LAY DOWN OUR LIVES for the brothers.  But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his HEART against him, how does God’s love abide in him? Little children, LET US NOT LOVE IN WORD OR TALK BUT IN DEED AND IN TRUTH.  By this we shall know that we are of the truth and reassure our heart before him.

Love is not a phrase, it’s an action.  It is more than a mushy Valentine’s Day card.  (Personal peeve:  It really bothers me how many “romance” cards focus on how the receiver makes the giver feel which isn’t love at all!)

One who is filled with true, godly love doesn’t take life from others, but lays their own life down for the sake of others.  True love is sacrificially and it should cost us something! Love starts in the heart and flows out to others in generosity. Love meets the needs of others at our expense–that is, if we want to love like our Savior!  Just giving for the sake of giving is not love.  1 Corinthians 13:3 says, “If I give away all I have, and if I deliver my body up to be burned (sacrifice my body), BUT HAVE NOT LOVE, I gain nothing.”  Jesus gave us all He had and sacrificed His very life–but underneath it all was intense, selfless love for sinners (Romans 5:8)! To know how to love, we have to know Jesus.

Love requires a choice.  Will I use what I have to show love to others or keep it for myself?  Will I love others in the same manner that Christ loves me?

Leave a Reply

