dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

1 John 3:1-2a ~ NOW

on January 28, 2014

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.  The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him.  Beloved, WE ARE GOD’S CHILDREN NOW…

God loves me so much, He made me His daughter.  Children are under the authority of one who provides, protects, nurtures, loves, disciplines, comforts, converses with, and knows intimately   (For instance, my son is three weeks old and I can already discern his cries, know how he likes to be held, burped and swaddled.).

As I rock back and forth with my baby, it’s God who is rocking me.  When my son starts to fuss or cry, I gently whisper in his ear, “It’s ok.  I’m right here.  I’ve got you.  I’m not going anywhere.”  That’s how God responds to me when I am upset or afraid.  When my baby wakes up screaming because of hunger; I grab his bottle and say, “Mommy’s got just what you need right here.  Settle down, I’ve got it.”  God–my perfect, pure Father–is like that!

Oh, that I would trust you like a child!  That I would rely on and depend on your more instead of putting my hope in others or myself.  That I would recognize your care more often instead of taking it for granted.  I am your child now!  You are my perfect Father!

Leave a Reply

