dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

My Gentle Leader

on January 21, 2014

Two weeks ago I had a baby–my first one in ten years.  The morning after he was born, I woke up at 5 a.m. and he was still sleeping.  Alone in the room, I decided to read my Bible since I didn’t know when I would have time again.  I decided to read Psalm 63–it was not the Psalm I was thinking of–but it was what I was “supposed” to read.  I had just finished praying about having a good attitude every time I was awakened in the night by my son because he is such a long awaited blessing.  These are the words that jumped off the page and into my heart…

My mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and MEDITATE ON YOU IN THE WATCHES OF THE NIGHT; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.  My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me. Psalm 63:5b-8

This reminded again of the verse that has brought me so much comfort through mothering over the past several years in Isaiah 40.  Verse 11 says, “He will feed His flock like a shepherd.  He will carry the lambs in him arms, holding them close to his heart.  He will gently lead the mother sheep with their young.”

I know that we are only two weeks into this adventure, but I can honestly say with the Lord’s help, His strength and His gentle leadership, each wake up call has been a blessing–each feeding an opportunity to show my baby the love of the Savior by holding him in my arms and close to my  heart!

Lord, help me to continue to cling to you!!  Keep me singing for joy!!

