dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

2 Peter 3:11-18 How Should I Live?

on January 10, 2014

Since all these things (the heavens, the earth, and the works done on the earth) are thus to be dissolved, what sort of people ought you to be in lives of holiness and godliness, waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God… (11-12a)

Since everything I see now will be destroyed, nothing really matters except how I live.  If I really believe God’s promises that He will come again and destroy the earth and create a new earth and heavens where only righteousness exists; then I must embrace the righteousness imparted to me by Jesus and live a life worthy of His sacrifice for my righteousness.

  • I must desire to live a holy and godly life which is possible because of God’s divine power giving me all I need to do it (1:3).
  • I must earnestly long for His appearing and the fulfillment of His promises.
  • I must be diligent to maintain a pure and peaceful life.
  • I must guard the truths entrusted to me through His Word.
  • I must grow in the grace of Jesus and allow His grace to change me into His image.
  • I must grow in my knowledge of Jesus.

None of these pursuits will lose their value, can be stripped from me or destroyed.  Spending my life pursuing these things will daily testify to the power and grace of God in the life of a sinful girl like me, and prepare me to meet Christ my Righteousness face-to-face.

