dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

2 Peter 1:1-2 Introduction

on December 20, 2013

Simon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ, to those who have obtained a faith of equal standing with ours by the righteousness of our God and Savior Jesus Christ.  May grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord. 

This letter was written sometime between 65-69 A.D. shortly before Peter’s death as a martyr for His belief in and preaching of Jesus Christ.  Historians state that Peter was crucified in Rome under the persecution of Nero.  Believing himself unworthy of dying like his Savior, it is believed that he was crucified head down.

Peter mentions three reasons for writing this letter:

  1. Remind them of the godly qualities they should be growing in (1:12)
  2. Warn them of false teachers (3:13)
  3. Encourage them to anticipate Christ’s return (3:12).

Know who I serve!  Peter titled himself as a servant OF Jesus Christ.  If my service is not first and foremost for Christ, I am a slave to whatever I am serving.  I will feel like a slave to my family, church, boss, teachers, neighbors, etc…which can lead to a life of weariness and bitterness.  All service must flow out of serving Jesus.

An equal standing!  All followers of Jesus Christ are on a level playing field.  Peter’s faith and mine are the same.  Our salvation only comes by way of the righteousness of Jesus Christ that He gives to all who believe on His name.  Peter may have been an apostle, the leader of the first church, an author of letters that are found in the Bible; but we are both sinners saved by the blood that Jesus shed on the cross.

Growing in knowledge!  The two things I need multiplied in my life on a daily basis are grace and peace.  I need the Lord’s help, favor, and divine enabling to succeed in living the life to which He has called me.  I need His peace in my relationships and circumstances.   The only source of abounding grace and unfathomable peace is knowing Jesus.  As we grow in the knowledge of Him, grace and peace will be multiplied to us.

