dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

1 Peter 4:19 Swelling Truth

on December 17, 2013

In Literature my son was reading the book From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.  Towards the end of the book Mrs. Frankweiler gives some advice to the youngster, Claudia:  “I think you should learn, of course, and some days you must learn a great deal.  But you should also have days when you allow what is already in you to swell up inside you until it touches everything.”  That is precisely how I feel about 1 Peter 4:19!

Therefore let those who suffer according to God’s will entrust their souls to a faithful Creator while doing good.

Throughout 1 Peter I have been reminded that forgiveness and salvation only come by way of the shed blood of Jesus (1:2). Through His resurrection from the dead He conquered death giving me new life and the hope of eternal life (1:3-4).  I have the promise that I will see Jesus face-to-face one day because I believe in Him by faith and love Him (1:7-9, 13).  I have been reminded that the Lord is holy, and because of my hope in Him and because He paid for my soul with His own blood I should want to be like Him–following His example of holiness (1:15-16).  I learned that Jesus set the ultimate example of humility by willingly suffering rejection, temptation, insults, hardships, persecution and death at the hands of His enemies in order to save us all (2:21-24).  When I am willing to suffer for His name according to His example, He will use it to strengthen me and change people’s hearts towards Him.

My Father in Heaven will never expect more from me than He required of His own Son!  Jesus is my supreme example of holiness, humility, and honor.  He is my source of hope, help and happiness!  He gives purpose to everything I go through in His name and for His glory.  Everything in 1 Peter points to Jesus and chapter 4 verse 19 is no exception.

Jesus suffered according to His Father’s will.  Matthew 26:36-40 says, “Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to his disciples, ‘Sit here, while I go over there and pray.’ And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be sorrowful and troubled.  Then he said to them, ‘My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch with me.’ And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, saying, ‘My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will’.”  Jesus did experience tremendous suffering from that point on in His earthly life.  His body was beaten.  He was mocked.  He had a crown of thorns pressed into His head. He was nailed to a cross.  His flesh was destroyed.

Jesus entrusted His soul to a faithful Creator.  Luke 23:44-46 tells us that before He breathed His final breath on the cross, Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit!”  Sure, they could destroy His body, but His Father could preserve His soul.

Jesus suffered while doing good.  Jesus did the greatest work of all time by suffering according to His Father’s will and entrusting His soul to the faithful Creator.  He provided the way for all mankind in all ages to be redeemed, reconciled and restored to their Creator!

Our flesh may fail; our bodies may waste away; our bodies may even be destroyed through suffering.  As amazing as our bodies are, they are just tents for our eternal souls. Our souls are created by God, and He is able to save them.  We can trust Him with our souls–He is faithful!

