dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

1 Peter 5:6-7 ~ Anxiety and Pride

on December 13, 2013

(Recently I have been discouraged that year two of this journey through the New Testament is coming to a close, and I am still unfinished.  Then I remembered a quote from Jeremy Kingsley, “We don’t read the Bible to finish.  We read the Bible to change.” I hope that my life reflects a lot of changes over the past two years.  As we wrap up our women’s study through 1 Peter at church this week, I am hoping to get back into my expedition through the New Testament.)

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:6-7

With the birth of my baby approaching in the next few weeks, I have realized that I have turned into a control-freak–even more than usual!  I have pridefully tried to control everything and everyone around me from Christmas gift buying, to scheduling, to my teenage son’s spiritual life, to when I want to deliver the baby, etc…!  I know that some of this is pregnancy related.  It even has a name–nesting!  But trying to control everything around me is a sin if I am not trusting in and humbly relying on God’s wisdom, direction, and strength.  I can plan, but I am not in charge of anything.  God already knows the delivery date, and I can rest in Him.

Pride and anxiety go hand-in-hand.  I cannot possibly plan for and fix everything that happens in my life.  When I think it is all my responsibility, anxiety sets in!  Anxiety is real and common among us, or else God would not have seen fit to graciously give us a way to handle and overcome it.  He gave us His unchanging character, His steadfast promises, His perfect Word, and the privilege of prayer.

Verse 7 says to cast ALL my anxieties on Him.  There is not one thing that I can’t give to Him, not one thing that He cannot handle or does not want to handle for me.

A lot of times, the word “cast” in verse 7, is used in relation to anxiety more as a fishing term.  I can “cast” my anxieties out into waters, but I don’t let them off the line so that I can reel them back in.  That is not the kind of casting Peter is talking about in verse 7. Casting really means “to throw something forcefully in a specific direction.”  I picture this kind of casting more like the shot put event in track and field competitions.  When the competitor’s name is called, they have just 60 seconds to release the shot put towards the legal target zone.  We, too, must throw our anxieties right away in obedience to God.  We cannot hang on to them!  The other thing I learned about shot put today is that after the shot is thrown, the competitor must exit towards the rear of the circle.  They cannot take one step towards the thrown object.  We must cast our anxieties on God and walk away from them!

Because He cares for me!  God is concerned with my life.  God is providing for my every need.  I have nothing to fear unless I refuse to turn to Him and humble myself under His mighty hand.

I encourage you  to take time right now casting all your anxieties to your caring, mighty God!  It brings freedom and joy!

http://youtu.be/YsgTxHY-CnM

