dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 34:8-10 ~ Tasty!

on October 11, 2013

If you’ve read this blog recently, you may remember that my son and I are trying to memorize Psalm 34.  Memorizing Bible verses is good because it hides truth in our hearts that we can draw on throughout life.   I’ve also found that it is more than memorizing words on a page, it is practical help for daily life in the process of committing it to memory.

This section of verses has many great promises, but it also has some directives in order to experience the fulfillment of those promises.

TASTE AND SEE THAT THE LORD IS GOOD!

One of the most impacting quotes I’ve heard is, “Don’t even taste what you don’t want to be hungry for.”  But if we want to be hungry for the Lord and His goodness, He invites us to “taste and see.”  So many people say, “God is not good, or He would….”  But have they tasted His goodness–even tried to see His goodness.  When I am more focused on worry and complaining, I am not tasting and seeing!  We cannot see the Lord’s goodness, if we don’t look to Him!

OH THE JOYS OF THOSE WHO TAKE REFUGE IN HIM!

We are all looking to encounter true joy in our lives…in fact most of us will pursue it constantly until we take our final breath.  The answer to experiencing true, fulfilling, and lasting joy in our lives is in drawing near to the Lord.  When we allow Him to be our place of safety and shelter, we will realize that all we’ve been searching for is found in His presence!

FEAR THE LORD, YOU HIS GODLY PEOPLE, FOR THOSE WHO FEAR HIM WILL HAVE ALL THEY NEED!

To fear the Lord is not to be afraid of Him, but to respect Him and recognize Him as the source of all things.  This promise to have all we need is not for every person, but it is for every person who belongs to God and shows proper respect and awe of Him.

When I first read this verse, I immediately thought of all the things we need to prepare for the arrival of our baby in January.  I thought, “If I fear the Lord, He will provide the dresser, rocker, high chair, diapers, formula, etc…”  But the more I meditated on the words, I realized that my greatest needs are not always material.  What I really need is grace, love, patience, guidance, a gentle spirit, more of God’s presence, and strength.  If I fear the Lord, I will have all I need to embrace and thrive each day!

THOSE WHO TRUST IN THE LORD LACK NO GOOD THING!

Often times I feel like I am lacking something I need, and I don’t trust the Lord to provide for my needs.  In fact, over the past several weeks, He has been continuously revealing the ways that I see a need and go out on my own to provide for myself.  For instance, my boys needed jeans and I didn’t pray and wait for the Lord, I went to Old Navy and bought some with my credit card. Then I felt anxious about paying it back.  Thankfully, God brought this to my attention.  I confessed my lack of trust in Him and asked for His help.  Today, the bill is paid in full!  Praise the Lord for His goodness!!

When we trust in the Lord we will lack no GOOD thing.  God always and only wants to give us what is good for us.  It may be different from what we think is good for us, but it will always be best!  God is good and only does/gives good things!

Want to experience all good things?  Need joy in your life?  Want to eliminate the fear of not having your deepest needs met?  It all comes down to the Lord–taste and see that He is good; take refuge in Him; fear Him, and trust in Him!

 

