dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

James 4:6-12 Straightforward Application

on September 24, 2013

These are some of my favorite verses because they are very straightforward–allowing no doubt about what God requires for fellowship with Him and growing in love for others.  The two greatest commandments are Love God and love people!   This is the “how-to” guide to living according to these commands.

But He gives more GRACE. Therefore it says, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the HUMBLE.” SUBMIT YOURSELVES THEREFORE TO GOD. RESIST THE DEVIL, and he will flee from you. DRAW NEAR TO GOD, and he will draw near to you. CLEANSE YOUR HANDS, you sinners, and PURIFY YOUR HEARTS, you double-minded.  BE WRETCHED and mourn and weep. Let you laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom.  HUMBLE YOURSELVES BEFORE THE LORD, and he will exalt you.

DO NOT SPEAK EVIL AGAINST ONE ANOTHER, brothers. The one who speaks against a brother or judges his brother, speaks evil against the law and judges the law.  But if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law, but a judge.  There is only one lawgiver and judge, he who is able to save and to destroy. But who are you to judge your neighbor?

This Sunday morning, while waiting for church to start.  I opened to these verses and meditated on them.  God showed me again that his grace is all I need, and the only way to obtain His grace is through humility before Him.  It took time and surrender, but I bowed before my King in that moment offering a prayer of submission to Him asking for openness to His Word during the service.  In drawing near to God, I experienced His presence like no other Sunday morning in a while.  The words of each song touched my soul and I was able to sing with full freedom, surrender and passion.  (We even sang “I Surrender All” which is the song that was being sung the day I gave my heart to Jesus nearly 14 years ago.  I was overwhelmed with His faithfulness to me!)  And the message from Revelation 1:9-20 left me in tears over the power and authority of my risen Savior who is reigning right now in power over the world, in the midst of His church and over my circumstances!  After the service, I experienced an increase of love and grace towards others as well.

God is faithful to His Word!  I encourage you to take the time to think through and act upon these verses.  You will experience the presence, grace and freedom of God!  He will draw near to you; He will give you grace; He will exalt you.

