dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 24:6 Seeking the Lord

on August 31, 2013

This morning my 9-year old was all trained up for his first 5k.  Around 4 a.m. a vicious storm swept through our area for several hours.  During that time, I prayed earnestly for God to calm the storm and clear the atmosphere by race time to avoid any disappointment or waste weeks of effort.  (He did give us sunny skies by race time!) Afterwards, I thought about the call to seek the Lord and what that really looks like.  Very seldom do I wake at 4 a.m. and pray intermittently over the next several hours about things of great importance, yet I was okay with seeking the Lord over the weather.  This really convicted my heart, and caused me to come back to Psalm 24 and find out from God’s Word what it really means to “seek Him.”

Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek the face of the God of Jacob. Psalm 24:6

  • We are called to seek the Lord CONTINUALLY (1 Chronicles 16:11)
  • We are called to DEVOTE OUR HEART AND SOUL to seeking the Lord (1 Chronicles 22:19)
  • We are called to interface seeking the Lord with HUMILITY AND PRAYER (2 Chronicles 7:14)
  • Seeking the Lord means MAKING ROOM FOR GOD IN MY THOUGHTS (Psalm 10:4)
  • We are called to seek the Lord EARNESTLY AND WITH LONGING (Psalm 63:1)
  • We are called to ALWAYS seek His face (Psalm 105:4)
  • My favorite: we are called to seek Him UNTIL HE COMES! No stopping or giving up! (Hosea 10:12)

When I feel far from the Lord or that lack of spiritual fervor and joy, I should be earnestly begging, petitioning, and appealing to the Lord to make His presence felt in my life.  Even when I sense His nearness, I can always be seeking more of His presence and fullness in my heart.  I can never have too much of the Lord! Until His promises, His character, and His ways consume every part of my heart, thoughts, and actions–I will never have enough of Him!

One of my favorite verses is Psalm 27:8:  “You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, Lord, do I seek.”

He calls us to seek Him because He wants to be found by us!  In fact Deuteronomy 4:29, Jeremiah 29:13, and Matthew 7:8–to name a few–promise that if we seek the Lord He will be found by us!  1 Chronicles 16:10 says that seeking the Lord brings rejoicing.  Psalm 9:10 says that the Lord will never forsake those who seek Him.  Those who seek the Lord will lack no good thing, according to Psalm 34:10. And Hebrews 11:6 says that God rewards those who seek Him.

So why am I not diligent in seeking the Lord?  Distractions, busyness/weariness, idolatry/lack of desire are the  three I struggle with most.

Lord, let me seek you diligently, continually, earnestly, and always.  Teach me to be devoted to seeking You with all that I am.  Help me to never give up, but to wait until I experience all Your promises for those who are seekers of Your presence.  Help me to seek you until I see You face-to-face for eternity. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

