dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Psalm 24 Roadmap to a Revived Heart

on August 28, 2013

Lately I’ve been feeling “blah” spiritually.  It’s been ongoing over the past several months with only glimpses of God’s glory.  Seems like it comes around about this time every year.  I thought vacation would help.  I returned relaxed, yet morose towards ministry and my personal faith.  Instead of turning to and seeking the Lord right away, I just put off praying about it and continued going through the motions.  Maybe because I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, maybe because of fear, maybe because of busyness and distractions.  Monday morning I prayed about it for the first time and the Spirit put the song Give Me Clean Hands in my mouth, thus pointing me to Psalm 24.  Over the past several days, I’ve been meditating on these verses and will continue as long as it takes until my heart is revived!  This is just a simple outline and summary I wanted to share with anyone who may also be struggling with feeling distant from the Lord.

The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein, for he has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the rivers (1-2).

Recognize the Greatness of God.  Everything belongs to God!  Everything!  He is the creator and sustainer and giver of all things! My pregnancy is His.  My family is His.  The church is His.  All my possessions are His.  My neighbors are His.  The land I live on is His.  The grass I mow, the trees I trim and flowers I water are His!  Even the water I put on the flowers is His!  I am His!

Who shall ascend the hill of the Lord? And who shall stand in his holy place?  He who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not lift up his soul to what is false and does not swear deceitfully (3-4)

Realize my Sinfulness.  When I am feeling far from the Lord, there is an area of my life that is out of whack that requires close examination.  Here are the questions I asked myself:

  • Are there any sins in my life I have not recognized or confessed?   
  • Are there any relationships that need repaired?
  • Is there anyone to whom I am refusing to show forgiveness, mercy and/or unconditional love towards?
  • Do I have any impure motives in relationships and/or ministry?
  • Are there any bitter attitudes or negative emotions in my heart that are sinful?
  • Have I lifted up my soul to anything false–anything that is not Christ or God’s Word?  Is my life centered on Christ “The Truth?”  Are there idols in my life?  Am I “committing adultery” against the Lord in some way?
  • Have I been dishonest, broken any promises, or had impure speech that needs to be confessed and forsaken?

He will receive blessing from the Lord and righteousness from the God of his salvation.  Such is the generation of those who seek Him, who seek the face of the God of Jacob (5-6).

Receive Righteousness.  The process of weeding out the sins that separate us from intimacy with the Lord can be painful and long.  It required diligence.  Is receiving the blessing and righteousness of Christ worth the pain and work of seeking it to me?  The verses reminded me of when Jacob wrestled with God in Genesis 32.  Jacob expended all his energy, yet would not give up until God blessed him. He was not only rewarded with a blessing from God, but also the gift of seeing God face-to-face. If we want the righteousness and nearness of God, we must do whatever it takes to draw near to Him!

Lift up your heads, O gates! And be lifted up, O ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in. Who is this King of glory?  The Lord, strong and mighty, the Lord, mighty in battle!  Lift up your heads, O gates! And lift them up, O ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in.  Who is this King of glory?  The Lord of hosts, he is the King of glory! (7-10)

Restoration of God’s Presence and Power in Life.  These have always been some of my favorite verses. They are shout-worthy!  In fact when we were renovating the church building, I wrote them at the entrance under the fresh paint.  But until this week I never thought about how being on this side of the cross in the timeline of life they apply to me personally.  My heart is God’s temple.  I want to lift up the latch, open the gate and let His glory, might, strength and presence fill me!  That’s revival!

This outline doesn’t just apply to Christians in need of revival, it is also the roadway to salvation.

Leave a Reply

