dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Hebrews 13:10-14 Post Vacation Reminder

on August 13, 2013

Returning to real life and ministry from vacation can have one of two results: return with fresh zeal and passion or return with hesitation and complacency.  This past week, I found myself in the second group.  I knew a lot of the same “burdens and battles” we were facing before we left were still waiting for us upon our return and honestly I just wanted to hide.  God used these verses (specifically 12-14) and much prayer to remind me, it’s not about me, to suck it up and get back in the “game.”

So Jesus also SUFFERED outside the gate in order to SANCTIFY the people through HIS OWN BLOOD. Therefore LET US GO TO HIM outside the camp and bear the reproach he endured. For here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come. (12-14)

Jesus suffered exclusion, rejection and pain to make people holy.  Now, I know that He is the only One who can make people holy; but as His ambassadors on this earth, it is our responsibility to spend our lives helping people in the area of holy living through discipleship.  So it shouldn’t surprise us when we face rejection and suffering when we are trying to live our lives like Jesus.  

William Lane said, “Christian identity is a matter of ‘going out’ now to Him.  It  entails the costly commitment to follow Him resolutely despite suffering.”

Will I meet Jesus outside the camp at the place of suffering for the sake of others?  If my hope is set on eternity, I will!  I will not give up!  

Lord give me the strength to serve and suffer for the sanctification of others.  Give me the heart and desire to continue the ministry of love. In Jesus, my suffering Savior’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

