dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Sleeping on My Feet

on March 5, 2013

Back in the day before seat belts and car seats, I was a little girl riding in a truck with my dad standing up in the middle of his torn bench seat!  (Don’t judge him–he is an amazing dad!)  I had a supernatural ability to fall asleep standing up on trips.  Was this safe? Nope!  Was I steadfast and unswayed? Nope! Did I miss a lot of road-trip action and sights? Yep! 

This memory reminds me of my prayer life!  Over the past few days I have been sensing that my passion for the Lord has been diminished, I have felt lukewarm in my love for the Lord, and I have not had victory over sinful attitudes and thoughts in recent weeks–maybe months.  I have been easily distracted and lacking zeal.

This morning my husband had to get up early and surprisingly I was able to get out of bed about an hour earlier than I normally like.  I entered the spare room, took my OneCry (www.onecry.com) daily prayer guide and looked up the verse Exodus 33:13, Moses said to the Lord, “Please show me now your ways, that I may know you in order to find favor in your sight.”  I continued reading…in verse 18 Moses boldly asked the Lord, “Please show me your glory.”  And God did it!  The Lord asked Moses to prepare His heart–to be ready–and to present himself to the Lord–standing and waiting to see the glory of the Lord.  

After a brief time of prayer, I asked the Lord to show me what was wrong in my heart and started my Bible study lesson from Priscilla Shirer called, Can We Talk? (Week 6, Day 4).  The first verse said, “STAY AWAKE AND PRAY so that you will not enter into temptation.  The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”  Then it went to Ephesians 6–the armor of God–which ends with the verse, “With EVERY PRAYER and request, PRAY at all times in the Spirit, and STAY ALERT in this, with all perseverance and intercession for all the saints.”

I had my answer to my waning passion and lukewarm love.  If I really want to know the Lord, I have to be prayerful.  If I really want victory in my life, I have to be alert and prayerful.  If I want strength from the Lord to stand, I have to be awake!  There is no such thing as sleeping standing up!   I don’t want to miss any more action and any opportunities to see God’s glory.  I don’t want to waiver or sway.

Sleep has become an idol in my life.  It has kept me from alert, watchful prayer and instead has rationalized the idea that “preeping” (praying, sleeping, praying, sleeping, praying, sleeping for about 45 minutes every morning) is substantial enough to start my day!  It is no wonder I have not been experiencing the strength of the Lord, the ability to stand under temptation, and closeness with the Lord. 

If you read this, please pray for me that I will be able to incline my heart to the Lord, devalue sleep, and highly value prayer.  Thank you!

2 responses to “Sleeping on My Feet

  1. Kim Teamer says:

    I just read your post, and I can tell you that I will commit to praying for you. I wanted to send you some encouragement. Know this, even when you are weak, you are strong. God’s grace is an awesome and wonderful blessing that is present even when we are not.

    Sounds like you had some serious time with the Most High. I love the revelations! God bless.

Leave a Reply

