dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Titus 2:1-10 God Values Educating Women

on February 13, 2013

Newsflash!  Younger women grow into older women!  To become the kind of older women that is beautiful in God’s eyes, younger women need training.  Younger women don’t need older women sitting around complaining about, “Young women these days….”  They need older women who will get up and help!  Older women–who teach what is good and train younger women; who don’t slander, but speak words of truth, grace, kindness and wisdom; who are respectable in their behavior; and who have so much trust and intimacy with the Lord that they don’t need to indulge in other things to relax or medicate their lives–have great value in the eyes of God.  Young women have value too–that is why God wants them to be trained.  God values education!

I’m not sure exactly where I fit in this training model–so please excuse in advance any vacillating between the two in the following comments.  I think I need to be the “older woman” in someone’s life, but I desperately need an “older woman” in my life too.  There are so many things out there vying to train us as women–magazines, blogs, pintrest, google, talk shows, documentaries, etc…but what they are teaching usually is not the sound doctrine–healthy truths–that God is intending for us to learn.

As a young woman, what is it that God wants us to learn from older women? What should the core curriculum look like?

  • How to love our husband and children.  Isn’t it interesting that we need to learn to love those who should be the easiest to love?  God’s definition of love is so different from what we know of love that it needs learned.  1 Corinthians 13:4-7 says, “Love is patient and kind; it does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude.  It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.  Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.”  Most older women have not loved like that, yet we turn to those women to advise and train us on love!  If you are young, find an older women who loves her husband and children according to this model and learn from her!
  • How to be self-controlled.  As I’ve gotten older and look back at my interactions with people when I was in my 20s I get really embarrassed.  I thought I knew so much!  I had a quick tongue, was emotionally driven, and acted impulsively.  I still do in some respects, but I have grown a little I hope =)  Young women need to be trained to have self-control over their mouths, actions and emotions.  Looking back even 15 years, I can see how I would have benefited from training in self-control, but at the time I didn’t think I needed anything!  If you are younger, look for a self-controlled older women to be honest with you about the lack of self-control they see in your life and listen to their wisdom.  Even though maturity has helped some with this, I still need an older woman to help me.
  • How to be pure.  I’m sure there is more to it than this, but as I look back again at my younger years, I am embarrassed by the movies I watched, TV shows I enjoyed, music I listened to, and books I read.  I filled myself with a lot of impurity.  In looking for an older women to train on purity, beware of legalism!! (a set of rules to maintain purity)  Purity is about the heart!  Proverbs 4:23 says, “Above all else, guard your heart. It is the wellspring of life.”  A pure heart grows us into women of respectable behaviors.
  • How to keep the home.  Believe it or not, we need to be taught how to manage a home.  This may involve such practical training as how to properly clean and organize a home.  But even more, it is learning how to make our homes a sanctuary of peace and safety for all who come through our doors.  The older women who trains in this may be our mother, but that is not always the case.  (Thankfully, my mother has been a great example of home management to me and taught me at a very young age how to care for a home.)
  • How to be kind.  Kindness is not our natural reaction to others. (In fact, my son just walked in for the umpteenth time, and my response was rude instead of kind.  I obviously need an older women in this area of my life.)  It is especially hard to be kind in a culture that promotes self-comfort, self-promotion, entitlements and rights.  But Proverbs 31:26 says that a women of great value, “Opens her mouth with wisdom and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.”  When we are squeezed–does kindness come out?
  • How to be submissive to our own husbands.  We do not need to yield to any other man! But we are called to value and respect our OWN husbands, and we do this by honoring their leadership as we would honor the Lord’s leadership over us. (Ephesians 5:22-24)  This is definitely not the education that the world will give to young women!  But older women who have done things their own way instead of God’s usually have lives that have resulted in feelings of discontentment and dissatisfaction–unless their lives have been redeemed by God!  Think about any women you know who did not obey God’s plan for marriage…think honestly about your own life when you haven’t followed this plan…what was the outcome???  Older women who have been submissive to their husbands have experienced the beautiful fruit of it in their lives.  Trust them when they say to be reverent, respectful and yielding to your spouse.  Let them show you how!  It may go against every fiber of our being, but the Holy Spirit has the power to overcome our flesh.  When we are submissive to the Holy Spirit, we can be submissive to our mate.  The fruit of living according to the Holy Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  If we can be trained to surrender our lives to the power of the Holy Spirit all these other things will fall into place.

The outcome of all this education is not an A+ on a grade card, but is intrinsically more valuable.  Growing into a godly older woman puts the  wonder of God, the beauty of the Gospel and the transforming power of His Word on display!

Here is the beauty–God doesn’t use perfect older women to teach!  There is no such thing!  Only redeemed women.  We can teach out of our mistakes even more than our successes when a Redeeming, Saving God is involved!

Leave a Reply

