dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

1 Timothy 2 ~ True Beauty

on January 25, 2013

The world’s standards for beauty can be measured in a contest, on a runway or in a photo spread, but there are women who are absolutely radiantly beautiful by God’s standards. His idea of beauty is much different! That beauty does not come from outer adornment–fancy clothes, perfect accessories,or showing a lot of skin.  It shines out of the heart!  Eyes that sparkle with joy and lips that part to share wisdom, kindness and love are the essence of true beauty.  Hands that fold in prayer, petition, supplication, and thanksgiving for their world and for salvation.  Women who have a modest heart and demeanor are beautiful.  Women who display self-control in their actions and reactions.  Women who fill their time with good works.  Women who learn and live quietly and know how to use the great power that is entrusted to them to build and honor others.

I cannot apart from surgery get a perfect face, be rid of cellulite, or have an ideal smile.  I cannot cover my wrinkles well or hide the fact that my hair is turning gray.  However, I can grow in beauty when it is true beauty.  I can let God transform my heart, my actions, my speech.  I can shine with His love and grace.  And through His perfect Word, I can be equipped for every good work (2 Tim. 3:17) 

Lord, make me beautiful!

Leave a Reply

