dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Philipians 1:3-6 Partnership

on December 15, 2012

I’ve really been taking my time going through this chapter each day, but I haven’t posted any thoughts yet.  I have faced much conviction in how I feel about people, how I pray for people and the realization that much of my thoughts are “me” focused.

I recently had a friend text me, “I thank my God every time I think of you,” straight from Phil. 1:3.  It was encouraging at the time, but as I’ve studied these verses, it became even more encouraging.

Think about what Paul wrote, “I thank my God in ALL my remembrance of you, ALWAYS in EVERY prayer of mine for you ALL making my prayer WITH JOY, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now.”  Who do you feel that way about?  Does anyone feel that way about you?  I spent some time thinking about people who have partnered with us for the last seven years in starting the church…my parents, the Gills, Boyers, Franskos, Morrisons, Rhodes, Roys, Landis, etc…were a few that came to mind.  God overwhelmed my heart with gratitude for their faithful partnership with us, joy flooded my soul, and I thanked God for each one.  God demonstrated His faithfulness to us through their faithfulness.

Then Paul reminded them in verse 6 of God’s continued faithfulness.  He wrote, “AND I AM SURE OF THIS, THAT HE WHO BEGAN A GOOD WORK IN YOU WILL BRING IT TO COMPLETION AT THE DAY OF JESUS CHRIST.”  The work we partner in is God’s work, and it is GOOD!  Everything God starts is good!  (Psalm 119:68, Genesis 1)  And everything God starts, He is faithful to finish!  Did you notice, though, when it will finish?  Completion comes with Jesus Christ’s return.  The good work God starts in us doesn’t stop when we die; our legacy goes on and on.  What God is working in and through you and me has lasting impact.  We may never see the outcome, but God keeps working…in our families, in our ministries, in answering our prayers.

Whatever good work God has started in you, be assured that He will finish it!  1 Thessalonians 5:24 says, “He who calls you is faithful; He will surely do it!”  Let those who come alongside in partnership bring joy and thanksgiving to your heart!  We are in this work together–and it’s a GOOD work!

P.S. Thinking about this even more, the thought occurred that if the work we are doing doesn’t feel like “good work” anymore it probably isn’t God’s fault.  Just like in creation, what He designed as good became marred by humanity–sins of pride and selfishness.  He starts everything good, and completes everything perfectly even in spite of our humanity in the middle.  God is good.

Leave a Reply

