dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Galatians 5 ~ A Life That Counts

on November 19, 2012

A life that counts is described as “faith working through love.” (6) Christ set me free for the purpose of “serving others through love,” (13) not for serving my fleshly desires.  I have been gratifying the desires of my flesh.  There are a list of specific actions that Paul wrote in regard to gratifying our flesh in verses 19-21, but he ended the list with “and things like these,” broadening the scope of what selfish living looks like.  

I know deep down in my heart when I am living selfishly, but I also believe by looking at the opposite results of living by the Holy Spirit, we can examine our hearts.  If the following words can describe our daily lives and interactions with people, flesh is winning the battle in our hearts:  loveless, joyless, strife-filled, impatient, unkind, bad thoughts toward others, faithless, uncommitted, harsh, snippy, hard/cold heart, no self-control in words, actions, food/beverage intake, etc…

A life lived to gratify self is a wasted life!  There is only one remedy:  THE HOLY SPIRIT.  The Holy Spirit is the presence of God dwelling in the souls of those who have received Jesus Christ as their Savior and accepted the free gift of forgiveness and grace that He offers.  Living and walking by the Spirit results in love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control. (22-23)

I don’t have to live for me. I don’t have to make every decision based on how it impacts me.  I don’t have to be nice to others so they like me or live my life to please people.  I have been set free by God to really love and freely give my life for others.  My fleshly desires and passions have been crucified with Jesus Christ so that I can be filled with His passions and desires.  God’s passion is people–to sacrificially love ALL mankind.

Will I yield to the Holy Spirit’s leading or will I give in to my selfish desires?  I know that God has more and better for me than I could ever want for myself, and that He has set me free to love and serve others.  I want my life to count, so Lord, help me to choose to walk with, follow and live by Your Spirit in my life today.  Help me to put myself aside to lovingly serve my family, friends, neighbors and strangers today. In the Powerful name of my perfect Savior, Jesus Christ, I ask~Amen.

Leave a Reply

