dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Galatians 4 ~ Motives

on November 16, 2012

I read and re-read this chapter.  It was difficult at first to know how to apply it.  Then it hit me!  God was asking me to examine my own heart in regard to serving His people.

I am desperate to see God changing people’s lives. But what undergirds that desire?  If it is to make me look better or to have them make much of me, then it’s wrong.  Let me give you an example of how this has been evident in my heart.  Let’s just say I give advice to a friend one day and the next week, she is saying that very thing to someone else as if she came up with it.  My initial reaction could be, “I said that first to you.  That’s my wisdom.”  Pure motives would be thankful that she heard what God wanted her to hear and that she was applying it and thankful that God gave me wisdom to share.

Moving on…these are the motives I came up with for wanting to see Christ changing lives:

  1. To see people experiencing the joy and freedom that comes from obeying God’s Word.
  2. To see Christ’s power on display in transformed lives.

Holy God, when my motives are wrong and selfish in ministering to your people would you please show me through deep conviction until the heart of Jesus for others is formed in me?  Help me to serve out of a pure heart and give me a desire to see people’s lives changed for your glory alone!  God, I’m willing to be in anguish until Jesus’ image is on full display in the lives of those you ask me to serve. In Jesus’ holy name I ask, Amen.

Leave a Reply

