dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Galatians 2 ~ Good Enough

on November 10, 2012

Paul had been teaching for 14 years that the grace of God and substitutionary death/resurrection of Jesus Christ was enough to save ANYONE!  Paul examined and tested himself to be sure those 14 years were not run in vain.  The Jewish believers in Jesus agreed with Paul that non-Jewish believers in Jesus did not need to add circumcision to their faith in Jesus for true salvation.  However, there were “false brothers” out there who disagreed.  Paul was unyielding and unsubmissive to them in order to protect the freedom and truth of the gospel.  That is what I hope this blog post does for any readers who happen upon it!

Paul even had to stand up to Peter for enjoying the company of the Gentiles until the Jewish leaders of the circumcision party (Doesn’t sound like a party to me!) came around.  Paul called it hypocrisy!  Hypocrisy is never in step with the truth of the gospel!  People who make salvation about following rules are slaves, and they enslave others!  Following rules will NEVER make us right with God!  Faith and belief in Jesus Christ is the only way!

The two verses that stuck out the most to me were 18 and 21.

For if I rebuild what I tore down (the Law), I prove myself to be a transgressor.

I do not set aside, nullify, treat as meaningless the grace of God.  For if keeping the law could make us right with God; then Christ died for no purpose!

There is no way to measure good works.  Being good will not save anyone.  Unless we can keep the whole law–never breaking one law EVER–we live separated from God for not attaining to His perfect standard.  GOD KNEW WE COULD NEVER BE PERFECT–HE GAVE US THE LAW TO REVEAL THAT TRUTH TO OUR HEARTS.  THEN HE GAVE THE LIFE OF HIS OWN SON, JESUS, TO MAKE ATONEMENT AND MAKE US RIGHT WITH HIMSELF.

I am a sinner!  I have lied, stolen, gossiped, cheated, been drunk, judgmental, dishonored my parents, loved things more than God, cursed, misused God’s name, the list could go on ad nauseam.  BUT I can say with Paul,

My old self has been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (2:20)

No other religion in the world has a God like that–who loves and gives Himself for the people!

The old me is dead and gone!  When people see me now, hopefully they see the love and grace of Christ living out through me!

Leave a Reply

