dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

2 Corinthians 12:11-13:4 ~ Gladly Spending

on November 7, 2012

About seven years back, I picked a theme verse for ministry.  It was 2 Corinthians 12:15a.  “I will most gladly spend and be spent for your souls.”  Somehow, it had been stolen from my memory and forgotten by my heart.  Ministry can be discouraging.  This week I felt like giving up and walking away.  God so graciously reminded me of this verse for the first time in years.  It brought sweet conviction to my heart for my attitude and lack of faithfulness.

When I use the word ministry it envelopes my role as a wife, mother, school teacher, and volunteer leader in the church.  There are times when I would say that I definitely spend myself–but I have been missing the “most gladly” part for a while…again!

There are several characteristics of a ministry that is marked by gladly spending and being spent for people.  We work at any cost (time, emotional, material) to see others built up in the Lord (19).  We are humbly mournful over unrepentant hearts (21).  We love others more(15b). We seek out others (14b).  We don’t want to burden them, and they are not a burden to us (14).  We go out of our way to meet with people face-to-face (13:1). We speak the truth of Christ, point people to Christ and warn people of sin and its effect in their lives (13:2) for their freedom not their condemnation.

Does a life like that seem impossible and exhausting?  The key to “spending and being spent” for people is living that life “with Jesus through the power of God.”  He has all the power we need to fulfill His purposes for our lives!

I am so thankful that God reminded me of this verse and has renewed it in my heart as my theme for ministering to my family, church and community.  The price is high, and I will spend my life!  People’s souls are worth it!

Leave a Reply

