dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

2 Corinthians 5:11-15 ~ I Live For…

on October 18, 2012

I did not make it very far today, before the hammer of the Holy Spirit came down on my heart.

In verse 14 Paul wrote, “For the love of Christ controls us…”  For that to be true in my life, I need to know what it looks like to be controlled by the love of Christ.  Thankfully, Paul went on to write about Jesus Christ sacrificially laying down His life for the sake of others.  That’s what love does!  Unfortunately, many times I don’t want to be controlled by that kind of love, I want to be controlled by my love for myself.

Paul went on in verse 15 to write: “and He (Christ) died for ALL, that those who live might no longer live for themselves, but for Him who for their sake died and was raised.”

  • If my son said, “I live for baseball,” but he was consistently found in front of the video game console every waking moment in spring and summer, I would be led to believe he lives for video games.
  • If I said Martha Stewart changed my life, one would not expect to come over and find my house disorderly and unkempt, a feast of TV dinners and a Ding Dong dessert prepared for guests.

Therefore if I say I live for Christ, I must no longer live for myself.  Living FOR Christ is living LIKE Christ!

A final illustration.  If I needed a heart transplant or my death was imminent, it would require the death of someone else for me to receive a healthy heart and new life.  I would feel grateful, indebted, and stop at nothing to show respect and appreciation for the one who made it possible.  Yet how often do I take for granted the death of Jesus that led to my new heart and life by living for myself.

Oh, Lord, let me be controlled by the love of Christ!  I do not want to live for me, but only always for You, my Savior!  Thank you for your example of a truly sacrificial life.  You didn’t play favorites and serve only those deemed worthy; You laid down your life for ALL.

Leave a Reply

