dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Romans 15:14-29 Sacrifice; Romans 15:30-33 Prayer

on September 3, 2012

Sacrifice:  Paul is extraordinarily humble about the work he has accomplished because he knows that it is only by Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit.  He has been faithful to proclaim the good news and to bring Gentiles into obedience to the Lord.  How did Paul do all that?  He lived his life as a living sacrifice while boldly calling others to live their lives as a living sacrifice–acceptable and holy to God.  His words and deeds matched and they were accompanied by signs and wonders from the Lord.  What did Paul sacrifice?  His need to get the good news out to unreached people groups hindered Paul from fulfilling his personal longing to visit Rome for many years.  Have I ever put something I longed for on hold for several years because the good news mattered more to me?  Is the gospel that important to me?  How often do I make personal sacrifice for the sake of the good news?

Paul makes one statement that is the prayer of my heart for my life.  In the second part of verse 19 it says, “I have fulfilled the ministry of the gospel of Christ.”  Lord, when my life is done, may I say that I have fulfilled all you planned for me in the work of the gospel of Jesus.

Prayer:  “I APPEAL to you, brothers, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to STIVE TOGETHER with me in your PRAYERS to God on my behalf, that I may be delivered from the unbelievers in Judea…so that by GOD’S WILL I may come to you with joy…”  Remember from Acts 20-28 that Paul does get delivered from the unbelievers and arrives at Rome with joy (28:15).  But it is as a prisoner under house arrest through many dangers, toils and snares.  God answered their prayers according to His will.  It was probably not the way they imagined.  God’s ways are not our ways–they are much higher and greater!

Leave a Reply

