dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

John 12:20-50 Glory

on June 3, 2012

Glory: high renown or honor won by notable achievements; a special cause for pride or delight.

It’s an amazing thought that we can receive glory and honor from God–the very things that are only due Him! Yet that is what this chapter says!  In verse 20 Jesus taught, “If anyone serves me, he must follow me and where I am, there will my servant be also.  If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him.”  In verse 42-43 it says, “Nevertheless, many even of the authorities believed in him, but for fear of the Pharisees they did not confess it, so that they would not be put out of the synagogue; for they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God.”  Serving, obedience, and bold faith are the ways we can merit honor and glory from the Father.  But those are also the ways that we give honor and glory to Him!  

Glory from men is short lived.  We can never do enough to continuously please all people.  It is an empty life of self-promotion.  Why would we even want glory from men?  Maybe because it’s tangible praise.  I don’t know, but I find myself in a trap of feeling like I am trying to please others and always falling short. I don’t have to worry about that with the Father because I am covered in His grace and His Son’s righteousness.  He is pleased with His Son; He is pleased with me!  Let me live as one who is receiving honor and glory from the Father.

Verses 44-50.  Like Jesus, we need to boldly proclaim the truth to people that will lead them to light and life.  We cannot judge them for how they respond; but God will.  He will also know if we’ve been obedient to His command to proclaim His salvation.

Leave a Reply

