dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

John 1:19-51 Only Jesus

on May 8, 2012

I was amazed how many times I wrote in my margins, “Point people to Jesus.”  That is what true, Christ-exalting ministry is all about.  It’s not about me–I don’t need any disciples!  I don’t need anyone thinking I can rescue them or I can save them.  People don’t need me thinking I’m their rescuer!  People need to know that when they come to me, I will help them get to Jesus–that I will help them carry their burdens–and that’s the best I can offer!

  • verse 23–John the Baptist (not the author of this book) said (and I’m paraphrasing), “I’m not who you’re looking for!  I’m just a voice crying out for the Lord.”
  • verse 29–“Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!”
  • verse 34–“I have seen and bear witness this is the Son of God.”
  • verse 36–“Behold, the Lamb of God.”  Hearing this, two people following John departed to follow Jesus! One was Andrew
  • verse 39–Jesus answered their curiosity with, “Come and see.”
  • verse 41-42–Andrew found his brother Peter and said, “We have found the Messiah.” And he brought Him to Jesus. Word of mouth & close relationships are great tools to get people to Jesus.
  • verse 43–Jesus himself said to Philip, “Follow me.”
  • verse 45–Philip found Nathanael and said, “We have found Him of whom Moses in the Law and also the prophets wrote, Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.”
  • verse 46–Philip said to Nathanael, “Come and see.”

As a result of all the people being pointed to Jesus either by John the Baptist, Jesus Himself, or His first followers; Jesus was recognized as the Savior, the Messiah, Teacher, King of Israel, Son of God, Lamb of God and Taker of Sins.

Jesus is compelling!  He is powerful!  He is unique!  He is Savior!

Leave a Reply

