dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Luke 6:46-49–Oxymoron!

on March 29, 2012

Little Giants!  That was my high school mascot.  We were an oxymoron–a figure of speech that uses contradictory terms. And that is precisely what Jesus is getting at in these verses.  I wanted to write about them yesterday (to stay on schedule) but I couldn’t because I was an oxymoron yesterday.  God took me to school, and I can’t write about something until the lesson is over.

Verses 46-49.  “Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?  Everyone who comes to me and hears my words and does them, I will show you what he is like: he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock.  And when a flood arose, the stream broke against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built.  But the one who hears and does not do them is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation.  When the stream broke against it, immediately it fell, and the ruin of that house was great.”

To call Jesus “Lord” is one thing, but to call Him “Lord, Lord” strengthens the meaning.  Repetition in the Jewish culture was their way of adding emphasis.  There are two different kinds of people that call Jesus, Lord (Messiah, Sovereign, Ruler):  1. Those who obey His Word and 2. Those who disobey His Word.  

The first are those that come and hear and do!  “Doing” is what demonstrates that Jesus is Lord in my life.  When God’s Word says, “Don’t be anxious about anything (Phil. 4:6)” and I respond with prayer and trust; I am being obedient.  When God says, “In your anger, do not sin (Ephesians 4:26)” and I choose to submit my anger to Him and forgive; I am being obedient.  When God tells me to “Trust in the Lord with all my heart and lean not on my own understanding (Proverbs 3:5)” and I believe He will make my paths straight; I am being obedient. When the requirement is to “Love the Lord with all my heart and love others as myself (Mark 12:30-31)” and I choose to worship and be selfless; I am being obedient.  The list could go on and on…these are just some areas that I struggle with.  Hearing and living in obedience to God’s Word is digging deep and laying a foundation on the Rock.  Yes, storms will come, but I will not be shaken!

The second kind of people hears God’s Word and thinks, “That’s nice, but I’d rather do it my way.”  I can tell you firsthand from my own disobedience, doing things my own way results in great ruin and destruction.  If you are feeling destroyed and ruined, it’s probably because you made a choice that was in direct opposition to God’s perfect Word.

We cannot call Jesus “Lord, Lord” and not do what He says–it is a grave oxymoron!

I’d like to close with some verses that tell us about the rock we are to dig deep and lay our foundation on…

  • 1 Samuel 2:2 There is none holy like the LORD: there is none besides You; there is no rock like our God!
  • 2 Samuel 22:47 The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock; and exalted be my God, the rock of my salvation.
  • Psalm 18:2 The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
  • Psalm 62:2 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.
  • Isaiah 44:8 Fear not, nor be afraid; have I not told you from of old and declared it?  And you are my witnesses! Is there a God besides me?  There is no other Rock; I know not any.
  • 1 Corinthians 10:4b For they drank from the spiritual Rock that followed them, and the Rock was Christ.

It’s time to get out the shovels and start digging–the Rock is closer than you think!

Leave a Reply

