dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Mark 15:42-16:20–Not the End!

on March 13, 2012

What first stood out to me was the women again.  Not only did they minister to Jesus during His earthly work, they watched Him die.  They saw where He was buried and returned to minister to His body.  Because of their concern, they were the first to see the angel and hear the message of their Risen Lord.  They saw the empty tomb and were the first to see Jesus.  God trusted women with a message for the disciples, and trusted them with truth.

Although there are conflicting views on where the book of Mark ends (verse 8 or verse 20), I say, “Who cares!  Jesus is risen!”  These “extra” verses do nothing to alter the good news or the great commission or diminish Jesus’ power or promises. They also bring into focus the human bend toward unbelief and hardness or heart.  

This morning I finished the book of Mark but am left with the overwhelming knowledge that this is not the end…Jesus commissioned His followers to “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation…And they went out and preached everywhere, while the Lord worked with them and confirmed the message by accompany signs.”  I’m so thankful they were obedient.

Father, give me the grace and courage I need to be obedient to this call too.  And let me never forget that I’m not working alone, but You are working and doing amazing things alongside me.  Keep me faithful!  Keep me zealous for the truth that Jesus is alive and that He is still working wonders! In His powerful name I pray, Amen!

Leave a Reply

