dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Mark 15:1-41–Ministering Women

on March 12, 2012

As I read the passage today, the last two verses caught my attention.  They say, “There were also women looking on from a distance…When he was in Galilee, they followed him and ministered to him…”

Jesus had the heavy job of shepherding alone–and all the discouragement and rejection, burden-carrying, pouring out of self in hopes that people will believe, exhausting schedules, heavy-hearted wondering if all you’re doing is even making a difference that goes along with shepherding.  All of this culminated in one disciple betraying him, ten abandoning him, and the one who seemed to have the most understanding denying him.  He experienced severe suffering at the hands of unbelievers, was mocked by sinful men, and was nailed to a cross and lifted up to be scorned.  He was forsaken by His Heavenly Father because He took the responsibility of our–my–sins and willingly died in my place.  Yet through it all, God placed women–compassionate, loyal, servant-hearted, nurturing–around him to minister to Him and His needs.

This morning I was thinking about my life as a pastor’s wife.  The wife of a faithful, passionate, self-sacrificing servant of God.  I am the woman that God has placed in his life to minister to him and his needs in a way that no one else can.  He can be vulnerable and know that I will listen and love him unconditionally.  He can pour himself out and know that I’ll help him get filled back up.  He can trust that I’m praying for him, supporting him and cheering him on.  Or at least that SHOULD all be true.  

Lord, help me to consistently recognize what a privilege it is to minister to Your servant, my husband.  Show me how to minister to him as unto You.  Thank you for giving me more than I deserve!  You are too good to me.  In the name of Jesus, I ask.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

