dailybiblereader2012

Putting God's Word into Practice…

Mark 13:3-37–Profoundly Personal

on March 6, 2012

Before I even read my Bible today, I was already tired.  I had a hard time getting up this morning.  I didn’t have any momentum to accomplish anything.  I checked my emails before reading my Bible (bad idea) and got sidetracked with other things.  I came to my Bible at 8:30 a.m. still in my pajamas and overwhelmed with the prospect of getting everything done today.  I already wanted a nap!  

Opening up to Mark chapter 13, there were two phrases that I needed to hear.  “Be on your guard!”  and “Stay awake!”  It is so easy to get caught up in the temporal, to get consumed with getting by.  Some days it feels like I’m treading water, which is exhausting.  Sometimes it seems like sleep is an easy escape from taking action.

There is too much to do–Stay Awake!  It reminds me of the lyrics from an old Keith Green song:  “The world is sleeping in the dark that the church just can’t fight, cause it’s asleep in the light.  How can you be so dead, when you’ve been so well fed.  Jesus rose from the grave, and you, you can’t even get out of bed.”

Lord, help me to be on guard and to stay awake.  You have much for me to do today.  I need to care for my family with diligence and grace.  I need to teach my boys with wisdom and joy.  I need to serve others with humility and patience.  All of those characteristics come by way of your Holy Spirit and prayer.  If you return today, find me alert and faithful and doing the work that You have set before me in the power You’ve given.  You are great and greatly to be praised!  Please put a song of joy in my heart and let me work as unto You!  In the name of Jesus, I ask it, Amen!

Leave a Reply

